Winter may be coming but sunscreen is still needed! A review of my favourite sunscreen – Paula’s Choice Extra Care Non-Greasy Sunscreen SPF 45+

October 5, 2011

My favourite sunscreen

As I promised on Monday here is a review of a product that everyone should have in their skin care routine – SUNSCREEN. Your probably thinking that you don’t need to wear sunscreen as we are coming into winter but you do. We are hit by the sun’s harmful rays every day! Sunscreen is the most important part of your skin care routine.  You can use the most expensive anti-ageing products on your skin to prevent wrinkles but if you are not wearing sunscreen then you are just wasting your money. It’s a known fact that 90% of the signs of ageing including wrinkles and age spots are caused by the sun. This is why it is so important to wear sunscreen on a daily basis, 365 days a year. Sunscreen acts as a barrier which prevents the harmful UVA & UVB rays from directly hitting your skin, therefore if you are wearing sunscreen daily you can rest assure that you are winning in the fight against wrinkles!

Now on with the review! I have used a number of different sunscreens over the years with various degrees of success but this Paula’s Choice sunscreen is the best that I have ever used. The sunscreen comes in the sleek packaging that one comes to expect from a Paula’s Choice product and it comes in the large size of 148ml. What makes this sunscreen so special is the fact that not only does it offer 45+ SPF protection, it also contains antioxidants as well. Antioxidants are important in a sunscreen because the ingredients in sunscreen break down throughout the day (this is why it is important to reapply) and antioxidants help to slow this process down and protect your skin as much as possible.

The consistency

The main reason I love this sunscreen is because it doesn’t break me out! It has a nice texture that absorbs into the skin completely without leaving that horrible  wax like mask that you find with a lot of the sunscreens on the market today. It also leaves your skin matt which is also a bonus if you suffer from a shiny t-zone like me. I also find that this product is moisturising as well so I just put it over the top of my Vitamin C Serum in the morning and I’m good to go. It’s for normal to oily/combination skin so it will suit a wide number of people. There is also a version for people who have dry skin that is available on the Paula’s choice website.

As you can see from the photo below the sunscreen disappears completely into the skin leaving it looking smooth and moisturised.  I really can’t stress how good this sunscreen is!

Once it's rubbed in.

The Bottom Line

If I had to choose one sunscreen to wear for the rest of life then this would be my first choice. It’s perfect for everyday use and it doesn’t feel heavy on your skin. It is available to buy from either Paula’s Choice US or Paula’s Choice EU websites. I’d keep an eye out if I were you as you can sometimes get her sunscreen products discounted throughout the year which is never a bad thing!

John 🙂

2 Responses to “Winter may be coming but sunscreen is still needed! A review of my favourite sunscreen – Paula’s Choice Extra Care Non-Greasy Sunscreen SPF 45+”

  1. Quinci said

    Do you ever use a moisturizer, or just the sunscreen and vitamin C combo??

    • Hi Quinci at the moment I’m mostly using just the sunscreen and vitamin c combo as I find that moisturising enough, but if my skin is feeling dry I would use a moisturiser as well. Hope that’s of help to you. Any more questions just ask!

      John 🙂

Leave a Reply

