Holy Grail Product No. 1 Review – Avalon Organics Vitamin C Vitality Facial Serum

April 6, 2011

Hey guys well I thought I would kickstart my blog with reviews on my three Holy Grail (HG) skin care products that I feel should be apart of everyone’s daily skin care routine, especially if you are concerned about getting older and want to try and slow down the ageing process.  Used together, these three products will help keep you looking younger, which is what everybody wants isn’t it?!  I’ve been using these products over the past few months so I’m able to give you the ‘lowdown’ on what I think about them!  First off we have the Vitamin C Vitality Facial Serum by Avalon Organics.

What is a Vitamin C Serum?

A Vitamin C serum is an antioxidant which will fight free radicals and help combat and protect you against the harmful effects of the sun.  Alongside a good sunscreen, a Vitamin C serum will help protect you from the damage UV rays can cause and also help reduce fine lines and wrinkles.  Over time acne scars will fade or even diminish completely in some cases and the complexion of the skin will be brighter and more even in tone.  I first became aware of Vitamin C serums a couple of years ago but it wasn’t until January of this year that I decided to take the plunge and purchase one for myself.  Vitamin C serums have really hit the big time over the past few years in terms of the amount of Skincare companies that now have one in their product line.  The reason for their rise in popularity is because of the proven results they have had on the skin.

Now you might be thinking to yourself, “What is the difference between a serum and a moisturiser?”  Well there’s a big difference.  To put it simply, a moisturiser only lies on the top layers of skin whilst a serum goes down to the bottom layers were the skin cells are made.  This is why a Vitamin C serum is an excellent product. Your ‘feeding’ your skin cells directly and are therefore promoting more collagen and healthier skin cells as a result.

The Product

During my research I came across the Avalon Organics Vitamin C serum.  Not only was the price great at £11 from Auravita or $15 from Amazon but the reviews of the product were mainly positive.  Here’s what Avalon themselves have to say about their product:-

“Our Vitality Facial Serum with concentrated delivery of Vitamin C for premium sun-aging protection plus the antioxidant action of Lemon Bioflavonoids, Melatonin and organic Green Tea and White Teas. Organic Borage and Flax oils, with omega fatty acids, nourish and repair delicate skin for a renewed, luminous complexion”. – (Official Avalon Website)

It comes in a nice compact, hygienic pump bottle.

In terms of this product being a serum it is exactly that!  I was slightly apprehensive before purchasing this serum because I worried that it would leave my skin looking and feeling too oily because I would be adding another step into my routine.  The beauty of this serum though is that it is a lightweight fluid that absorbs instantly into your skin leaving it feeling really smooth and soft.  It also has a slight orange scent which is really refreshing as you are putting it on your face.

It's a lightweight product that leaves your skin glowing!

You can see from the photo above that it has a beautiful sheen when applied to the skin.  It does instantly brighten the skin as well which is great if your like me and you need something to make you look at least alive after one too many late nights out!

The Ingredients

Now for the most important part in my opinion…the ingredients.  For me the ingredients of a product are a make or break in terms of whether I will use it or not.  There are too many products on the market today that contain harsh ingredients such as Sodium Lauryl Sulfate that just strip the oil away from your face!  What I love about this serum is that seventy percent of its ingredients are organic. The ingredients are as follows:-

“Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) (1, Organic Lavender), Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) (1, Chamomile), Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) (2, White Tea), Arnica Montana (Montana Flower) Extract (3, Organic), Aloe Vera (Aloe Barbadensis) Leaf Juice (2, Aloe Barbadensis, Organic), Emulsifying Wax, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate (Vitamin C) (Vitamin C), Vegetable Glycerin, Hyaluronic Acid, Panthenol (Pro Vitamin B5), Olive Squalane, Helianthus Annuus Oil (2, Organic Sunflower), Tocopherol (Natural Vitamin E) (Vitamin E), Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E) (Vitamin E), Glyceryl Laurate, Lemon Bioflavonoid, Melatonin, Organic Borago Officinalis (Borage, flax seed oils [2]), Linum Usitatissimum (Linseed), Rosa Canina Oil (Rose Hip), Soy Lecithin, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Butter (Cocoa), Laminaria Digitata (Kelp) Extract, Allantoin (Comfrey Root) (Comfrey Root), Calendula (Calendula Officinalis) Flower Extracts (2, Organic), Cetearyl Alcohol, Steareth 20, Glyceryl Stearate, Amodimethicone, Xanthan Gum , Phenoxyethanol”.

One of the standout ingredients for me is that it contains Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate which is a stable form of Vitamin C.  This is exactly what you want your Vitamin C serum to have in it as it will ensure that the potency of the serum remains fresher for longer, therefore ensuring your skin is getting the best treatment possible.

The only issue that I have with the ingredients is that Avalon do not mention the actual percentage of Vitamin C that is in the serum.  I have searched and searched the internet in an attempt to find out the percentage but have gotten no joy so far.  There was one post on a forum that I came across from a girl who claimed that she had spoken to Avalon through their customer service department and they apparently told her that it contained at least ten percent Vitamin C.  If that is true then that is enough to see a difference in your skin and personally I have over the past three months.

How To Use

The directions say to use it in the morning and evening after cleansing.  You can use it alone or with a moisturiser but in my opinion it is better to use a moisturiser afterwards as I feel it wouldn’t be moisturising enough by itself.  I’ve been using mine once a day (I skip it most nights as I use Retin A in the evenings) for the past three months and it is about half way down the bottle which is excellent.  I also find that one pump full is far too much so I tend to use about half of one.  It is up to you though.  If you are applying to your neck as well you may find that you will need the entire pump full.  You apply it the same way as you would apply your moisturiser.  I tend to dot it around my face and then gently massage it into my skin in upward circular motions.  Before applying your moisturiser I recommend that you wait 5-10 minutes to allow the product to absorb into your skin.

Does it Work?

In my opinion yes this product does work and to me it has been a godsend!  I have skin that is incredibly easy to mark and scar when it comes to spots and I have noticed that since using this serum older marks have began to fade and red marks from current spots are fading away faster than they ever have before.  I have also noticed that my overall skin tone is much better than it previously has been.

The Positives

  • Lightweight formula which is easily absorbed into the skin.
  • It will brighten your complexion.
  • Anti-ageing.
  • It contains a stable form of Vitamin C.
  • Scars and red marks lighten over time.

The Negatives

  • It may cause an initial breakout as your skin might purge.
  • The percentage of Vitamin C is not stated by Avalon.

The Bottom Line

Overall I feel that this is a wonderful budget Vitamin C serum.  The beauty of this product is the fact that although it may be a budget serum in comparison to some of the more expensive products on the market, it still delivers in terms of what it says it will do.  I cannot wait to see the results in the long-term!  Bottom Line – Get this product if you want to improve your complexion!  It’s honestly that good!

The cheapest place that I could find to order Avalon Organics Vitamin C Vitality Facial Serum in the UK was from the online store Auravita priced at £11.  If you are in the US you could order it from Amazon for $15.  I would search around though as you might be able to find it cheaper elsewhere.

John

One Response to “Holy Grail Product No. 1 Review – Avalon Organics Vitamin C Vitality Facial Serum”

  1. Mireya said

    I enjoy what you guys tend to be up too. This type
    of clever work and coverage! Keep up the awesome works guys I’ve included you guys to blogroll.

Leave a Reply

